ElikaFM

Very much just another blog

We will be Glee

with 4 comments

I was challenged recently: while quite certain I was not a judgemental character a friend begged to differ. Actually, he didn’t so much beg; he simply differed. Whatever. This all came about because of musical theatre and 3D movies which I really, really didn’t want to go and see.

When Avatar came out I figured that it was about imaginary blue flying people who use bows and arrows. Some humans invade their planet for a secret mineral, and there’s a heavy handed analogy to do with the Iraq war and the terribleness of humankind. Or something. I’ve no doubt they work it all out in the end. Anyway, I didn’t want to see it. And my friend said: look, it’s beautiful. It’s a whole new cinematic experience. You’ll love it. I’ll go with you.

No. I retorted. No way. I hate sci-fi. And I hate bullshit blockbusters.

How do you know if you don’t go? He replied, reasonably.

Reasonable really irritates me when I’m being willfully obtuse:  Because. Because I don’t like it. I get the Curzon newsletter. I’m *arthouse*.

I know. I actually said that. This neon sign floated gently above my head spelling out the word ‘WANKER’ for all to see. I’m *arthouse*? With stars? Possibly. But there is a high chance based on that comment alone that I am also a prick.

The stupid thing is that I’ve been here before. When my sister suggested we take my mother to see Mamma Mia for her birthday I flat out refused. I don’t DO musical theatre. I explained. I just don’t. It makes me want to punch people. We can’t take Ma; what if I accidentally punch *her*. Shit way to celebrate a birthday don’t you think?

Happily for my mother, and despite my feisty attempt at bravado, my sister is definitely the boss of me and tickets were purchased forthwith. All my mother knew was that she needed to wear something sparkly and we would meet her at a restaurant to begin the evening. The show, my friends, was awesome. Seriously. I loved it. We were standing on our seats by the end pushing our favourite shapes and finished the night shit faced in a terrible bar around the corner from the show. There’s a photo somewhere. Thinking about it, my sister and mother look pretty together, I appear to have been fired into frame from the left. It’s not my finest hour.

Anyway. I am meandering from my point.

More recently Glee began. From its billing I was sure I would hate it: a high school drama with musical theatre type shenanigans and cheerleaders and twats and teenage angst – as if I don’t have enough of that myself and I’m thirty two. Anyway. I watched it. I’ve no idea why; intrigued I suppose. And it was amazing. I shit you not. I swear it lifted me up and swung me ’round. It was joyful and funny. They used the word ‘cunts’.What’s not to love? I tweeted my way through it and by the end we’d formed a new movement. Wanna join? #Wewillbeglee. You know you want to.

You see my friends, to bring this gently to a close: the scales of my judgement fell from eyes. And now I’m even considering going to see Avatar (I will never go and see Avatar. Sorry Dan).

NB. I have just watched the latest Glee and it sucked. I’ve been assured that it will return to form but, if not, let the record show that I *said* musical theatre was shit.

Written by elikafm

January 18, 2010 at 10:59 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ‘Fired into frame from the left’. Love it.

    Claire

    January 19, 2010 at 9:46 am

  2. Glee is amazing. I watched it online over christmas to avoid the tripe that was on tv. just you wait…makes you want to throw a slushy in the face of other american sit coms.

    Also if you have seen ‘Fern Gully’ as a child you do not need to see ‘Avatar’. It is the same film but with aliens instead of woodland fairies (http://us.imdb.com/title/tt0104254/plotsummary)

    burnsyboo

    January 19, 2010 at 10:39 am

  3. We need to get choreographing, sister…

    Ferders

    January 19, 2010 at 2:35 pm

  4. Next post – can you attach the post Mamma Mia pic? Sounds *awesome*.

    Susan Pinna

    January 19, 2010 at 2:39 pm


Leave a Reply

