ElikaFM

Very much just another blog

Snapshot of a dream. Part two.

with 2 comments

I am on a pier sitting close to the water and I think this is a river, but it’s deep so maybe it is the ocean.

It’s cold but I pull my sleeve up to see the ink crawling down my arm, long lines of words growing ’round towards my wrist: I will find you. I will find you. I will find you.

I stand and take my clothes off,  smart in the cold and then step into water where I am submerged fast, rushing down and my lungs tighten and tighten and I can’t breathe anymore or see but I am the most awake I have been in days. And the blue ink rushes ’round my body holding me in and saving me and making me gulp water until I am wide-eyed and choking and now the words are bluring but, as they do, they are written again.

And then it is quiet. Suddenly and deeply still. I realise I can breathe down here.

Written by elikafm

February 7, 2010 at 2:12 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Scary. Dreams can be so much scarier than things that have happened.

    McMucca

    February 7, 2010 at 10:42 pm

  2. I read this on several different levels and though I’m not sure which one/s are intentional, it’s deeply powerful.

    Or should I say, tongue in cheek, poignantly porpoise-full?

    David J Foster

    February 8, 2010 at 5:58 pm


Leave a Reply

