ElikaFM

Very much just another blog

Morning Light

with 2 comments

In the morning, when it’s early, the sunlight bends through our window and across our faces. I watch the dust move in the air; we breathe in time.

The sheet covers and exposes us after a night of movement and sleeping. I imagine the bird’s eye picture: we are still but connected, limbs and skin linked and pressing: a snapshot from a longer dance. If one moves, the other will respond and we will adopt a new pose, the next in the slow, quiet sequence.

We are so peaceful here. So calm and contained. If this room were suspended in space we would have enough to keep us. I want to tell you this but you are still sleeping and so I try to too. I concentrate on my breathing: feel the shape of each breath; my ribs opening and arching out, my diaphragm flattening, then my lungs as they inflate. I think, briefly, about the mechanics; that my brain and my body with their effortless momentum continue to pull oxygen from the world around me, shuttle it through my body, feeding my organs and then expelling the waste. On and on it goes like that:  a machine that will never stop.

We move. It’s impossible to know who leads and who follows; our bodies have learned each other and the path of their patterns. Don’t let go, I whisper in between your shoulder blades.

You squeeze my hand. You don’t let go, either.

You’re awake.

I’m asleep.

I curl tighter around you. Concentrate again on my breathing until I sleep too.

Written by elikafm

March 15, 2010 at 9:42 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tuf

    March 15, 2010 at 2:23 pm

  2. Quite beautiful

    McMucca

    March 15, 2010 at 9:01 pm


Leave a Reply

