ElikaFM

Very much just another blog

Watching you

with one comment

I knew you’d come by so I left my notebook on the table, open for you to read. I waited outside in a doorway and watched you pull up in a silver car. I made a note on the palm of my hand and stayed quiet as you went into the house; I moved so I could watch you through the window.

You made coffee: my beans, I thought, and pushed the strands of hair away from your face. You adjusted yourself in the chair at the table and opened the book, flattened the pages back. No care, I thought, for the spine. Or for discretion. Everyone knows you need to be more careful than that.

You appear to be making notes; close reading my text, even the scribbles in the margin and the doodles on the edge. You tap a number into your mobile phone and whisper to someone. Fuckwit, I spit.

You haven’t noticed yet that I am here outside, and not on the table. I’m not even hiding anymore. I’d wave if you looked up. Watch me: I am writing a story about you in white chalk outside on the wall; I’m cheating wildly, as I always do, on the truth. I’ve decided not to make you look good.

Written by elikafm

April 12, 2010 at 1:03 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Elika. Elika said: Tiny bit of bloggery in progress: Watching you: http://ow.ly/1xltc […]


Leave a Reply

