ElikaFM

Very much just another blog

With you there

with 4 comments

I walk along the river a thousand miles from where you are. The early sun is warming over the water and I watch it reflect back towards me. If I could breathe in sunlight I would, and I try.

I remember a story a man told me years ago about quantum physics and matter. He said that somehow all things are only mostly where they are; not just in one place and where you see them, but spread far beyond that. It was to do with energy, I think, or forces, perhaps. If you drew a graph of a thing – of me, of you  – and I am wracking my brain as I remember this story, his hand ’round the small yellow pencil scratching out the x and the y – the graph would be a bell curve. At the peak of the curve, he jabbed the pencil down, that’s you. The man grabbed my arm: here you are! But you’re not just here. No. Your matter is elsewhere too, and he ran the pencil up and down along the slope of the curve and on along the infinite line. His eyes were shining out at me: mostly here, but also in every other place possible.

It sounded so perfect, so wonderful, and the way his eyes sparkled like that caught something inside me. Perhaps it couldn’t be, I thought, perhaps Stephen Hawking would have something to say about this, but still I keep that story with me, wrapped about my finger tips like scarlet wool and imagine it means that I am with you and you are with me, though we are breathing in different places.

I feel you vivid to the side of me; your rhythm as you walk, the smell of your skin, your break into laughter, the tone of your voice as it rises and falls. I walk you down under the bridges and past the buildings that crouch next to my path.  And, as I do,  I wish my palm into your’s wherever it is you are, I turn to look at where you point and feel your hand as it brushes back over me and squeezes at the curve of my shoulder.

My heart will break with love and I am as far away as I can ever be, though closer still than we were before.

Written by elikafm

May 26, 2010 at 9:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How is it that you make me blush when I read your stories, even when there’s no-one in the room but me?

    snoxishere

    May 26, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    • I don’t know. This one’s not a blushing one is it?

      elikafm

      May 26, 2010 at 9:53 pm

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Elika, Jackster69. Jackster69 said: To all new followers (and old), I give you the BRILLIANT, Elika; RT @Elika: I blogged a little story. With you there: http://bit.ly/98B16h […]

  3. You made me think of this.

    If you can suspend judgement about the auto-tune and weird synths, this is pretty fantastic

    I know that the molecules in my body are traceable to phenomena in the cosmos. That makes me want to grab people in the street and say, have you heard this?
    Neil deGrasse Tyson

    What’s even more flip-out is that youtube now has interactive transcripts of videos? Jigga wuuuhat?

    Stuart Parkinson

    May 27, 2010 at 10:10 am


Leave a Reply

