ElikaFM

Very much just another blog

This is just to say

with one comment

I read the poem in a tutorial: I was so tired  and I didn’t want to feel the things I read, or at least I didn’t want to feel them there. I said to my tutor: it’s just a fucking note. Lovely, but just a note. And then I copied it down, folded it into my pocket before it moved to my purse, and there it stayed for many years. We wrote essays for the tutor and he wrote back just a line: you have so much more inside you.

Looking back I don’t know why it was so important except that even now the jagged sweetness resonates like a taste inside me and makes me want to cry and fuck and love. But you can’t write that in an essay and I don’t know how else to write. I don’t even know how else to be and that’s the problem, you see.

You sit opposite me years later with the last verse on your lips and I know you more and you’re further away and I don’t know what to do. When I leave you and return home, I find my notebook, bend the spine and mark out the poem once again. I tear it out of the book, fold it and on the outside write: if you want me, you’ll find me. Then I put it in my purse and hope you will.

Written by elikafm

June 19, 2010 at 7:12 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful.

    mcmucca

    June 21, 2010 at 12:33 am


Leave a Reply

